>

Holiday Food Is Not For Me

Dated: 10/29/2018

Views: 474


I may lose some friends for what I am about to say but…I do not like holiday food…at all!!  GASP!

I know that it is tradition, I know it has been done for years, I know that your grandmother’s is the best, but I don’t like holiday “favorites” and never have.  Am I horrible, or what?!?

If you’re like me and love cooking but would rather mix things up a bit for the holidays, please see some recipe ideas below.  I have included appetizers, sides and cocktails (because, lets be real). 

I left out desserts.  I do think this is the one area that tradition is best. 

Cocktails

Hot Mulled Cider - https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/hot-mulled-cider-recipe-1914496

Spiced Cabernet -https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/dave-lieberman/spiced-cabernet-recipe2-1944728

Sparkling Ginger Cider - https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/sparkling-ginger-cider-recipe-2103488

Cranberry Champagne Cocktail - https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/cranberry-champagne-cocktail-recipe-1957530

Appetizers

Cranberry Brie Bites - Https://www.delish.com/cooking/recipe-ideas/recipes/a56610/cranberry-brie-bites-recipe/

Cheese Ball Bites - https://www.delish.com/cooking/recipe-ideas/recipes/a50204/cheese-ball-bites-recipe/

Parmesan Crusted Brussels - https://www.delish.com/cooking/recipe-ideas/recipes/a55370/parmesan-crusted-brussels-sprouts-recipe/

Caramelized Onion and Bacon Pull Apart Bread - https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/caramelized-onion-and-bacon-pull-apart-bread-3561249

Veggies and Dip with a twist - https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/green-crudites-with-yogurt-dill-dip-3363814

Cranberry Orange Chutney - https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/spiced-cranberry-orange-chutney/

Roasted Brussel Sprout and 3 Cheese Crostini - https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/roasted-brussels-sprouts-3-cheese-crostini/

Sides

Cauliflower with Parmesan and Panko Crumble - https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/roasted-cauliflower-with-parmesan-panko-crumble

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Garlic and Pancetta - https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/roasted-brussels-sprouts-with-garlic-and-pancetta-104566

Italian Sausage and Wild Mushroom Stuffing - https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/skillet-stuffing-with-italian-sausage-and-wild-mushrooms

Rosemary and Garlic Potatoes - https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/rosemary-and-garlic-roasted-potatoes-357469

Potato Salad with Mustard Vinaigrette - https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/potato-salad-with-7-minute-eggs-and-mustard-vinaigrette-56389652

Scalloped Potatoes - https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/old-fashioned-scalloped-potatoes-10270

Cheesy Brussels Sprout Casserole - https://www.delish.com/holiday-recipes/thanksgiving/recipes/a44632/cheesy-brussels-sprout-casserole-recipe/

Maple Bacon Carrots - https://www.delish.com/cooking/a19625150/maple-bacon-carrots-recipe/

Blood Orange Salad - https://www.thekitchn.com/colorful-recipe-sicilianinspired-blood-orange-salad-167371

Pear, Arugula and Blue Cheese Salad - https://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-arugula-pear-and-blue-cheese-salad-with-warm-vinaigrette-salad-recipes-from-the-kitchn-26054

Fried Turkey is the Way to Go!!

Fried Turkey Injections - https://www.thespruceeats.com/top-turkey-injection-marinade-recipes-336445

Other Ideas for Holiday Get Togethers

  • Italian

  • BBQ

  • Street Tacos

  • Nosh fest all day with appetizers and snacks…this is my favorite because you can play games all day, snack all day, be silly, open gifts, and play with toys

  • Seafood boil

  • Explore other cultures favorite Holiday meals

Holidays can be stressful crazy and fun!  How will you be enjoying yours?  What are your favorite recipes?Image title

Blog author image

Jessica Gold

Originally from the Northwest Houston Area, but has lived in Austin for the past 18 years. She loves to see how much Austin has changed over that time.She attended the University of Texas – Hook ‘....

Latest Blog Posts

Lease Available In Austin Texas

Great Opportunities to live fifteen minutes from downtown Austin TX where life is full and always happening. Do not pass this one that I am featuring today.  A Duplex that feels like town-home

Read More

Current Market

Although COVID-19 has everyone being very careful in day to day activities there has been no sign of homes decreasing in value.  Most everyone is staying home and staying safe.  Realtors

Read More

Austin Market

As the Austin Market continues to grow so do the price of homes!  The average price of homes has increased by over 4% in just a couple of months since the new year.  Homeowners are

Read More

Downtown Northline In Leander Texas

Leander - A Growing Town! Northline the New Downtown northwest of Austin Texas It is the new downtown space with unique destinations with where contemporary design meets the character and charm of

Read More